Flight Training in USA and Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), USA


There couldn’t be a better time to take up flying as a career. If you becoming a professional pilot has been your dream job, now is the right time to get your qualification. The predicted shortage of qualified pilots has hit U.S. airlines sooner and more severely than expected. This has lead the airlines to accelerate hiring. This pilot shortage is expected become more acute in the next few years.

This shortage is attributed to the long-anticipated wave of pilot retirements and recently enacted rules that require an increase in training for new pilots and more rest for existing aviators (flight duty time limitations) at passenger airlines.

The US being a contracting member state of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), the Federal Aviation Administration issues pilot licenses that can be converted to another pilot license of any of the ICAO member state.

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the national aviation authority of the United States. An agency of the United States Department of Transportation, it has authority to regulate and oversee all aspects of American civil aviation.

FAA website: http://www.faa.gov/licenses_certificates/

Pilots are certified under the authority of Parts 61 or (if training was conducted by an FAA-approved school) 141 of Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations, also known as the Federal Aviation Regulations (FARs).

Avel Flight School is an FAA Part 141 approved school. It is also approved by the Department of Veteran’s affairs and SEVIS, Department of Homeland Security.

FAA issues pilot licenses suited for various requirements, purposes and privilege levels.

The levels of pilot certificates are, in order of increasing privilege:

• Student Pilot: an individual who is learning to fly under the tutelage of a flight instructor and who is permitted to fly alone under specific, limited circumstances

• Sport Pilot: an individual who is authorized to fly only Light-sport Aircraft

• Recreational Pilot: an individual who may fly aircraft of up to 180 horsepower (130 kW) and 4 seats in the daytime for pleasure only

• Private Pilot: an individual who may fly for pleasure or personal business, generally without accepting compensation

• Commercial Pilot: an individual who may, with some restrictions, fly for compensation or hire

• Airline Transport Pilot (often called ATP): an individual authorized to act as pilot for a scheduled airline. (First Officers that fly under 14CFR 121 are required to hold an Airline Transport Pilot Certificate as of August 1, 2013.)
The Commercial Pilot:

The Commercial Pilot License allows you to fly an aircraft for compensation or hire. This is also the minimum license requirement for employment as a pilot or become a flight instructor. Commercial pilots can also be paid for certain types of operations, such as banner towing, agricultural applications, and photography.

Minimum requirements to obtain a Commercial Pilot License are:

• Be at least 18 years of age
• Be able to read, speak, write and understand the English language fluently.
• Hold a Private Pilot License.
• Obtain at least a second class medical certificate from an Aviation Medical Examiner
• Pass a computerized aeronautical knowledge test
• Accumulate and log a specified amount of training and experience under Part 61, Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) section 61.129.
• Pass an oral test and flight test administered by an FAA inspector or designated examiner
The minimum required time for the Commercial Pilot License is 250 Hours under CFR 14 Part 61.
Knowledge tests

Most pilot certificates and ratings require the applicant to pass a knowledge test. This test is also called the written test. The pass percentage for FAA knowledge tests are 70 percent. The results are valid for a period of 2 years, and are a prerequisite for practical tests.

Practical tests

All pilots certificates and ratings require a practical test, usually called a “check ride”. For each practical test, the FAA has published a Practical Test Standards (PTS) document which is required to be used by the applicant to prepare, by the flight instructor to teach and evaluate readiness for the exam, and by the examiner to conduct the exam.
A practical test is administered by an FAA Inspector or an FAA Designated Pilot Examiner.

The check-ride is divided into two parts: the oral exam followed by a flight test in the aircraft. Upon successful completion of the practical test, the examiner will issue a temporary airman certificate with the new license or rating.

At Avel Flight School our training standards are exceed the PTS. We offers unparalleled training and guidance to make your dream of becoming a professional pilot in the shortest time, with the highest quality of training and cost efficiency.

Advantages of Training with Avel Flight School and acquiring a commercial pilot license.

1. Avel Flight School has Centers both in Chicago, USA and Chennai, India to help with training and License conversion
2. Has the Federal Aviation Administration part 141 approval with the highest safety and training standards
3. Training structured to be completed in the shortest possible time
4. Transparent and competitively priced courses with no hidden costs
5. Earn two valuable licenses, both an FAA and the civil aviation authority license of your country on completion
6. Qualify with an FAA license which is globally recognized and can be used directly in many countries without a conversion
7. Unparalleled training in one of the busiest airspaces in the word, Chicago O’Hare Class Bravo airspace
8. Friendly and professional staff
9. Excellent facilities at the heart of the Chicagoland area
10.Avel Flight School is approved by the FAA, the Department of Veteran Affairs and SEVIS
11.Located in Chicago, a world class city with a fantastic exposure, while you train with us

Join us and Launch your career in aviation!

For course price Contact us.